Collecting Advice

Telfs Card Park

OzCardTrader
Real Name
Tom Telfer
eBay User
dynastysportscentral
I am pretty new to NBA collecting and currently team collect in the AFL/NRL. The Spurs are my team and while I would like to team collect them with 18,000 odd cards out there I also want something achievable. Player collecting is an option and I thought maybe I could pick 5 Spurs players as my starting five and then when I box bust I will keep any Spurs cards and trade off for the 5 I select. I wanted a mix of old and new so here is the list I intend to pick from:

George Gervin
Manu Ginobili
Tiago Splitter
Patty Mills
Avery Johnson
Sean Elliott
DeJuan Blair
Richard Jefferson

Any feedback as to who should be my starting 5 or how you best collect your team with an achievable focus in mind?

Id go for a legend Gervin and maybe someone like Elliott or Avery. Lots of nice cards that wont break the bank!

Telf,
Im a Spurs collector, unfortunately I chose the 'everything goal'.
My main focus is Gervin autos though, for a Hall of Famer there are plenty out
there that are fairly affordable.
Mills has the bonus of being an Aussie, but only a handful of cards in his Blazers uni, and
by all reports will be waived anyway so maybe dont choose him.

Sean Elliott I used to love and he still appears in plenty of current day sets which is great,
I reckon you'd get a good span of eras of cards if you collected him, has a few autos to
aim for as well.

Jefferson is now elsewhere and most of his good cards are in a Nets uni.

Splitter looks like he's coming along OK, not a lot of cards so far, a few sought autos,
could be a good one to pick.

Of course the 'big 4' of collecting Spurs would be Duncan, Robinson, Ginobili and Parker.
To target one of these guys would be more expensive and a lot of cards, but a fun and
challenging chase.

I have boxes of doubles, let me know who you choose and I can send some stuff your way!