Where to start when a complete NEWBIE?!?!

KnightsTragic

OzCardTrader
Real Name
Tim
Hey Guys and Girls,

Have been loving reading a whole bunch of threads and looking at all the amazing cards out there.

Looking to get my hands on either some cool cards via single purchase and buying boxes.

I do love opening packs / boxes - I have to admit that.

Really into the mid-90’s players.

But I’m looking for autographs and / or memorabilia cards of the following:

1. Michael Jordan
2. Scottie Pippen
3. Shaq
4. Latrell Sprewell
5. Reggie Miller
6. Penny Hardaway
7. Shawn Kemp
8. Dikembe Mutumbo
9. Karl Malone
10. Patrick Ewing
11. Tim Duncan
12. David Robinson
13. Dominique Wilkins
14. Hakeem Olajuwon
15. Larry Johnson
16. Alonzo Mourning
17. Jamal Mashburn
18. Chris Webber

I know - the usual suspects there - but let’s face it - was an awesome era.

As I understand it I could buy old boxes with less special inserts or new boxes that have throwbacks.

But I’m doing my head in trying to find which of the 300 types out there would be my best chance.

I fully understand it’s a gamble on boxes - but just looking for any tips as to which ones I might focus on - as I’m struggling to get my head around the current variants available.

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers all.

Big topic for me as you know and looking at my recent posts!

This could be really detailed ;

What's important to you? Is it the photography/image on the card which brings back memories for you?

Is it an autograph - on card signifying the player has held it to sign vs a sticker auto - trivial but it matters to some people

If the player has had multiple teams is there a particular team that you remember them by? Rookie card?

Do you want to pull the specific card you desire out of a pack ? - this could be particularly expensive chase