Absolute newbie to collecting NBA cards

Kai5

OzCardTrader
Real Name
Suz
Hi All
Joined this site to learn a bit (ok alot!) more about collecting NBA cards..

Been watching NBA for several years now. My fave player was KD but have become a really big fan of Doncic in recent years.

Open to any advice and guidance on how to start investing/buying cards- i.e is it best to buy hobby/blaster, or even those $30 retail packs?

My reason for getting into the card scene is more about my love of nba and collecting nice cards of my fave players rather than finding rare cards to resell (but hey always good to know if i find something valuable)

Thanks!
Kai

Welcome to the forums 🙌 KD and Doncic 👌 I can see you have very nice taste in players! They're some of my favourites too.

With their cards, I tend to find KD autos are undervalued compared to other top echelon players. Doncic cards are definitely overvalued considering he hasn't achieved the top tier stuff like MVP or Championship (yet.. hopefully soon!).

In saying that, the market has dipped big time so the prices you currently see are a fraction of what was, so it's a great time to buy.

My best advice for someone starting out is don't drop any big dollars on singles on eBay just yet, do your research, try get to some card shows and look at the cards in person. Meet a few people, check out their collections, see what you like. Also check out YouTube channels like Mattscardshop (local Aussie) and Packman (US based) to see pack openings and maildays. This will give you an idea on what cards are popular.

Welcome!

If you're in it for mainly collecting and have players in mind I'd definitely say sign up for a few places where you can browse wide ranges of cards and see what catches your eye.

In Aus you have good sellers on ebay.com.au but also MERQARY (link in my signature), sjay2k, and here on ozcardtrader.